Mama’s Garden 2

The other day, I woke up, walked to the kitchen, and I see this:

011520131118

It’s one of my favorite fruits and it came right out of Mama’s garden. How cool is that?

It weighed more than 2 kg and I ate about 1/4 of it.  I did not get to take a picture when it was opened because I was too excited to eat it.

It’s called the guyabano fruit or soursop. Its flesh is white, its seeds are black. It has a distinct aroma and flavor, and the flesh just happily slides down your throat.

This fruit is not only yummy, it might also have certain anti-cancer properties according to (in vitro) studies.

Guess what Mama can do with this fruit. Wine!

DSC_0285

The white wine tastes good on its own, chilled.  I also enjoy it as a cocktail, when mixed with mango juice or orange-calamansi juice.

Summer is only two months away. It’s the time of the year when a lot of fruits are in season. I’m looking forward to (eat) what else comes out of Mama’s garden.

Leave a comment